Mobile Triggers

Eighth Graders Take Step to Upper School at Ceremony

Rudy Brandl

The Class of 2028 completed its Middle School journey during the Stepping Up Ceremony on Wednesday, June 12 in the Berry Performing Arts Center.

The morning event began with a processional to Rondeau and continued with the Pledge of Allegiance and everyone singing America the Beautiful. Kirstin Rogers, Middle School Head, welcomed the students, parents, friends and other members of the W+H community.

Dr. Corinna Crafton, Head of School, began the announcement of award winners by presenting merit scholarship awards to Veer Kansal ’28 and Anna Zhang ’28 and achievement scholarship awards to Diya Kothari ’28 and Shweta Saravanan ’28. Dr. Crafton also recognized the lifers among this year's eighth grade graduates.

Arshi Goel ’28 presented the Streib Cup to seventh-grader Isabella Paredes ’29. This award is given for the highest achievement in public speaking among sixth and seventh graders. Ellie Szczubelek ’28 represented her class as the eighth grade speaker. 

Jordan Barker ’28 won the prestigious Kilpatrick Award presented to the best all-around eighth grade student. Criteria for this award include academics, athletics, citizenship and leadership. Diya Kothari ’28 won the Chandler Award for the eighth grade student with the highest overall average for the academic year. Angel Chun ’28  received the Elwell Award as the outstanding male athlete and Shweta Saravanan ’28 won the Lum Award as the outstanding female athlete.

Aeon Rangavajjula ’28 and Jordan Barker ’28 won the Althea Marder Pond Award for outstanding work in the fine and performing arts, respectively. Raymond Han ’28, Veer Kansal ’28, Talia Levy ’28, Julia Marin ’28, Evan Moreira ’28 and Ellie Szczubelek ’28 received Community Service Awards. Mrs. Rogers recognized eighth grade student council members Samaiya July ’28, Veer Kansal ’28, Diya Kothari ’28, Julia Marin ’28, Evan Moreira ’28, Shiloh Sharma ’28, Devin Virdi ’28 and Anna Zhang ’28 with special pins.

Mrs. Rogers made remarks and provided some words of wisdom before joining Dr. Crafton, eighth grade coordinator Ms. Noreen Jafri, and advisors Mr. Jeff Martin, Ms. Henna Tailor and Ms. Tamica Van Dunk in the presentation of certificates. Mrs. Rogers dismissed the graduates to be greeted by Dr. Bob Bowman, Upper School Head, in the PAC lobby on their way to the reception.

Congratulations to the Eighth Grade Class of 2024!